Divorce Records California are maintained in conformity with the Freedom of Information Act. As with any other region in the country, specific rules and methods have to be employed to attain these documents. Previously, one can obtain such records without having to pay for some amount. But when the expenses involved and the number of petitions has escalated, the state enforced particular charges for this.
One should bear in mind that a duplicate of a certain divorce file can only be issued to those persons whose names can be seen in the data, a legitimate agent and an individual or an entity approved by the government.
The California Department of Health Services’ Office of Vital Records keeps Free Public Divorce Records of the state from 1962 to June 1984. You can order by mail if you want to get hold of a copy of such document. You just have to pay the amount of $13.00 to search the data and to identify the exact location where the divorce was approved. You can also choose to fax your petition but you will incur an extra fee of $7.00. The agency does not receive cash payments so prepare your personal check or money order payable to CDPH Vital Records. You must also ensure that you mention your contact number and complete address in case the file you need will be mailed to you.
The aforementioned bureau will give you a Certificate of Record which indicates the names of the individuals involved in the divorce, the date of filing, the county where the divorce was granted, and the court case number. Keep in mind that this paper is not an authenticated duplicate of the divorce data. It also does not reveal any information if the dissolution of marriage was finalized in court.
One can obtain a certified copy of a divorce certificate from the Clerk of the Superior Court of the county where the marriage break-up took place. You will be required to submit a sworn statement that is signed by you, together with the completely filled-out request form. You must point out the vital details like the recent and birth names of the spouses and the place and date where the divorce was filed. The application you will send through mail must include a notarized sworn statement; otherwise, your plea will be deemed as lacking and will not be processed. Always remember that you will not be given any refund for the payment you made. Unfortunately, because of the manpower shortage in the agency, it takes around 15 to 20 weeks before you will receive the report you need.
Presently, divorce is becoming a common incident. So if you are into a genealogy search, the most hassle-free technique you can use to secure a duplicate of a certain divorce decree is through the worldwide web. There are a number of online sites you can select from that will satisfy your need. The fees are somewhat costly, but you are guaranteed to receive the information you seek in an instant, in whatever location you are in.
Thanks for stopping by!